Sunday, November 15, 2009

A Case of Love by Wendy Stone

Title: Case of Love
Author: Wendy Stone
Publisher: Eternal Press
Published date: November 2009
ISBN: eBook 978-1-926704-81-4 / Print 978-1-926704-89-0
Genre/Theme: Contemporary
Length: Novel
Buy Link
Author’s Website

Synopsis: When reporter Mackenzie Hunter goes looking for a story and stumbles into a drug sting, she expects the worst but finds the best. Undercover detective Gideon Hawkins finds himself inexplicably drawn to the dark-haired beauty who goes looking for trouble without reason. If she waits a minute, it seeks her out all on its own. Trouble follows them both actually. As a cop and a hard hitting reporter the two of them are bound to stir things up. Drug dealers, angry psychos, fire, and overly protective family members prevent the two of them from ever being board as they struggle to overcome danger while discovering one another.

Review: I loved both of these characters. Mackenzie is sweet and determined without being weak or overly pushy; Hawk is rough around the edges but incredibly loving; and the supporting characters, especially the Hunter family, add the perfect sense of reality to the mix. Ms. Stone’s tale of romance amid danger and mayhem with just a little humor to balance things out provided a delightful read.

Despite a few redundancies and inconsistencies in dialogue and behavior, Case of Love is well written and a fun read overall. I would recommend it as an exciting escape.

Rating: 3.5 whips
Heat Level: Erotic

Saturday, November 14, 2009

Out of Her Dreams by Fran Lee

Out of Her Dreams

Author: Fran Lee

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave Publishing

Published date: 6/12/ 2009

ISBN: 9781419921247

Genre/Theme: contemporary

Length: 128 pages

Buy Link

Author’s Website


In the midsts of a book signing Samantha Hasting meets the man of her dreams. The very man on the cover of her romances that she has been dreaming of since she was a teen. How can he be a real person? She has written about a man from her dreams never expecting him to be a reality.

David Chance a famous wrestler shows up after he becomes aware of Samantha using his picture and writing about him in her romance books. He has decided to give her a piece of his mind but when he shows up at her book signing and the sparks fly all of his intentions go out of the window.

David realizes that he wants more than just money from Samantha so he gives her an ultimatum. Samantha must decide whether she wants to agree to it or let the man of her dreams walk away.

Both Samantha and David feel the sparks fly from their very first meeting but will their relationship last? Can they both want something more than just sex? With each passing day their feelings for each other become more intense. Will they trust each other and lay their hearts on the line or will they separate after their time together and never see one another again?

I adored both Samantha and David. David was an Alpha male who saw what he wanted and took it. He has a heart of gold but a bad boy persona. Only those closest to David know just what a genuine person he is. Samantha is a woman with her own mind even if she dose lose it whenever she is around David. She is smart and stands for what she thinks is right. The love that grows between these two is a beautiful thing to read.

Fran Lee weaves a great story about lust, trust and most of all love. With characters full of depth and emotion that show us that if you are willing to take that jump you may just find the love of your life.

This book had me glued to the pages from the very beginning. Out Of Her Dreams is a lovely story that should not be missed.

Rating: 5 whips
Heat Level: erotic

Other: m/f

Reviewer: Gabrielle

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Three Wrong Turns in the Desert by Neil Plakcy

Title: Three Wrong Turns in the Desert
Author: Neil Plakcy
Publisher: Loose Id
Published date: 2009
ISBN: 978-1-60737-436-7
Genre/Theme: Contemporary Erotic Suspense
Buy Here!
Author’s Website

From the back of a motorcycle to a Turkish bath to a remote dune in the desert, closeted ex-Navy Seal Liam McCullough and ESL Teacher Aidan Greene find ways to bring each other to the heights of pleasure. So what if they’re carrying the password to a million-dollar Swiss bank account and being chased by Libyan intelligence agents determined to stop them at all costs? Love and lust fuel their passion and not even three wrong turns in the desert will keep them from surviving this adventure alive -- and together.

Three Wrong Turns in the Desert
was my first read from Author Neil Plakcy. The story is fascinating - adventurous and plenty of hot man sex - but I found it hard to get through the editing. Quite a few typos and the character's names were switched a couple of times, which totally pulled me out of the story. But I kept reading. Aidan Greene is over being treated like a doormat, and to forget his woes and his ex, without much planning, he agrees to take on an ESL teaching position overseas. I like the way Plakcy sets up his characters. Aidan was believably naive; and Liam, the hunky bodyguard Aidan finds himself falling for, is equally well-drawn in all his secretive, uncompromising take-charge self. Admittedly though, I enjoy stories with a more "real" feel to them. I don't know about you, but if I were in a foreign land and under constant threat of being snuffed out, I'm not sure I would flippantly engage in wild sex in the sand with a dune the only thing separating my man and I from a camp full of suspicious characters. Funny thing was though, the adventure pulled me into the story. So well that even though I found myself rolling my eyes and declaring "whatever" at some of the crazy sexcapades Aidan and Liam engaged in, I couldn't put this book down. Perplexing, to say the least, but I will definitely be reading more from Author Neil Plakcy--if just for his awesome adventures! I find it hard to rate this book. I'd easily give it 4 whips for the story even with the unbelievable but unbelievably hot sex, but I think if the editing were better and I wouldn't have been pulled out so many times, I may have enjoyed it more.

3.75 whips
Heat level:
m/m, anal play
Bryl R. Tyne

Princess Slave by Sara York

Title: Princess Slave
Author: Sara York
Publisher: Wild Rose Press
Published date:07/08
Genre/Theme: Fantasy Erotic
Length: 79 pgs
Buy Here!
Author’s Website

Princess Ava Timna is prisoner of the king of Zebulun, doomed to become his sex slave. Escape means certain death but staying only delays the inevitable—the loss of her virginity. To her people, her virginity is sacred, something to be treasured and given as a gift to her future husband. Wedding King Ean isn't an option as he's rough, known for defiling women and casting them aside. She expects abuse and harshness at his hands, yet his gentle touch leaves her breathless and aching for more. Could she be attracted to him?

King Ean of Zubulun has a secret—he’s actually Jaron, Ean's identical twin on a mission to restore order and honor to the planet he loves. Keeping Ava prisoner weighs on his conscious. Returning her to her people would blow his cover and result in their deaths. Keeping her means giving in to the lustful fire burning in his loins, knowing all the while he's lying to the one woman he wishes could be more than his princess slave.

Sara brought her world to life in this scifi short story. Ava is a believable and likable heroine, while Jaron is a yummy hero. When the two get together the lust fest is on! The scenes are juicy, vivid, and descriptive--not much imagination required. It read like a much longer book, even though its packed into 79 pages. The author did an excellent job of bringing to life her characters in such a short time, and of tying up any loose ends. I would recommend this read to anyone looking for reason to get their (and perhaps a partner's) pulse rate up!

Rating: 4 whips

Heat Level: Erotic

Other: explicit language, masturbation, voyeurism, m/f/f, erotic body piercings, light bondage, shaving

Reviewer: Olivia

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Hearts Afire Anthology: October by Darragha Foster & Tracy Sharp

Title: Hearts Afire (Anthology): October
Author: Darragha Foster, Tracy Sharp
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Published Date: 10/2009
ISBN: 978-1-59578-610-4
Genre/Theme: Erotic Anthology
Length: 109 Pages
Darragha Foster website

Blurb: Consumed - Darragha FosterBen Storms knows fire. A hot shot, he’s not afraid to fight fire with fire and walk into the belly of a blaze to put it out. Only one thing has ever frightened him—how he feels about Hadyn O’Hara, a fellow firefighter. The largest wildland fire in decades brings them together for a hot time. Too bad Fire is a jealous bitch and doesn’t want to share Ben. Hadyn breathes in the spirit of Fire after an injury and sets Ben’s heart ablaze—with dire consequences to them both.

Review: I've read other books with firefighters as main characters. Yet, this story went into more detail about the job and the feelings the firefighters experience when doing their job. There is a touch of paranormal elements in this story that put a twist in the adventure of Ben and Hadyn. Personally, this was a little too dark for me. I'd still like to read this author in the future.

Burning Souls - Tracy SharpNewspaper reporter Mia Nolan has a dark past. She stays out of trouble and under the radar working the crime beat, until a serial firebug brings her own dark past back to haunt her. Suddenly Mia’s is having psychic visions about local fires while they are happening.Mia’s visions bring her face to face with the fireman who rescued her from the fire that killed her two younger sisters eleven years ago. A fire started deliberately by her mother. Seeing Josh Waters again brings back bad memories, as well as her resentment toward him for rescuing her but not being able to save her sisters. Yet a fire is ignited within her. Their attraction is undeniable. Hot desire burns within them as they come together to try to stop a twisted mind from murdering again.

Review: These two characters, Mia and Josh, struck a nerve with me. I don't know if it was their background they shared. They just wormed their way into my heart. There is definitely some twists and turns in the plot that will have your head spinning, just a little. Don't worry, things do get resolved. You'll just have to pick up the book to see how it ends. Definitely, would love to read more of Tracy Sharp's work in the future.

Rating: 4 Whips
Heat Level: Explicit
Other: Several sex scenes, anal play/intercourse
Reviewer: Roberta

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Table for Three by Missy Martine

Title: Table For Three
Author: Missy Martine
Publisher: Siren Publishing, Inc
Published date: November 2009
ISBN: 1-60601-548-6
Genre/Theme: Contemporary Ménage
Length: 220 pages
Review: After her abusive marriage ends Cass finds herself the sole heir to her long lost uncle’s house and fortune. Cass goes to the small town of Mountain Vista in Oregon to settle the estate. As Cass begins to try and settle all of her affairs her lawyer Oliver Barton III begins to try and romance her. Being newly divorced from an abusive husband Cass has no thoughts of the romantic kind at all. That is until she meets Matthew Carlisle and his twin brother David. Both young men have always shared women in the past and when they tried going their separate ways it only led to heartache. Once they meet Cass Matt and David decide that they both have feelings for her and want to be with and share Cass forever. The only problem is convincing Cass that it is ok to love both of them. It is hard enough getting Cass to open up to them but they also have her lawyer to contend with and his secretary Serena who would like Cass to believe that the two are taken by none other than Serena herself. The closeness between Matt and David was a great thing to see and I enjoyed watching Cass bloom from a scared and shy girl into the confident woman she turns into. As the bond grows between Cass and the two brothers she begins to understand just what a real relationship is supposed to be. The love that forms between them is a wonderful thing to see.Cass must learn to trust and love again. Will Matt and David be able to show Cass and convince her before it is to late? Missy Martine writes weaves a beautiful story in Table For Three. This story is a wonderful read and should not be missed. I was hooked from the first page. I will certainly be looking for more books to come from this author.
Rating: 5 Whips
Heat Level: Erotic
Other: m/f/m, m/f, anal play
Reviewer: Gabrielle

Saturday, October 31, 2009

Rafferty's Woman by Josie St. Marie

Title: Rafferty’s Woman
Author: Josie St. Marie
Publisher: Red Rose™ Publishing
Published date: July 02, 2009
ISBN: 978-1-60435-357-0
Genre/Theme: BDSM
Length: 91 pages
Buy Link:
Author’s Website

Layla Horn finds her sister Chayla missing and after a phone call from Chayla she goes in search of the man her sister told her she was running to for protection. Rafferty Carwill has loved Layla since the day he saw her picture in Chayla’s apartment years ago. When Layla shows up in the flesh on his doorstep Rafferty is amazed and enthralled. He has loved her from afar for so long and now that she is with him he is not sure what to do. Can Layla understand and maybe even enjoy his lifestyle or will it scare her away? As Layla and Rafferty try to figure out their feelings for each other they must also find Chayla and figure out why she is on the run.

Layla is a strong woman and she blooms under Rafferty’s love and care. She is just what he needs and Rafferty loves her with all his heart and would give or do anything for her. This story was a great read filled with lots of sexual tension that builds until it explodes in one very hot scene in Rafferty’s kitchen. Josie St. Marie takes the reader on a ride with this book that they will not forget. Rafferty’s Woman is a wonderful story of love and trust that everyone should read.

Rating: 5 whips
Heat Level: Erotic
Other: m/f, BDSM
Reviewer: Gabrielle